Lowell School, Inc. is a non-profit educational institution organized under the laws of the District of Columbia. The School is governed by a Board of Trustees, which is responsible for determining the mission and strategic plan of the School, establishing overall policy, and assuring financial stability. Through its selection of a Head of School to serve as Lowell’s chief executive officer, the Board also ensures implementation of the policies it has adopted. 

The Board strives for diversity in the backgrounds and skills of trustees. All members share a common institutional commitment to maintain the character, philosophy, and fiscal health of Lowell School.

Board of Trustees

Chair of the Board
Liz Steinglass

Incoming Chair/Vice Chair
Marcie Bane

Sarah Harding

Assistant Secretary
Amy Mauser

Deb Gray

Assistant Treasurer
Wes Bizzell

Members of the Board
Tracy Ballard
Harry Bainbridge
Cheri Bridgeforth Castillo
Elaine Fitch
Olivier Fleurence
Cynthia Francisco
Bernard Fulton
Kari Gallagher
Louise Greenspan
Katrina Holliday
Melody Jackson
Damian Jones
Kim Jones
Erick Mullen
Jioni Palmer
Teresa Park
Keiranne Piester
Jess Rosenbaum
Todd Wilson

Head of School, ex officio
Debbie Gibbs

Lowell Parent Community President
Tildy Davidson

Faculty Representative
Maria Lama

—Todd Wilson, Parent

I joined the Lowell School board because I wanted to help support the extraordinary teachers, staff, and families that every day weave together Lowell's unique learning experience, feeding creative and curious intellects and shaping open-minded contributors to our society and planet.